Dreaming of Fireflies

A WordPress.com weblog

“Since we met, my life’s been so up in the air…” July 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jen @ 10:23 am

As I prepare to move to a new town (still without a job or a place to live!), I think about how crazy my life has been since meeting the two loves of my life who are leading me there- Benjamin and Jesus (one a chronic procrastinator and conventions-resistor, the other who also likes last-minute surprises and turning the world’s ways and expectations upside-down). In light of the spontaneous adventures and misadventures that have resulted from said relationships, I post this song. I would follow them anywhere and I don’t think this newest adventure (or any of them) is a mistake at all, but this song makes me laugh at the roller-coaster ride of life with them.

Mistake of My Life by Caedmon’s Call

I’m in love, never been so sure of anything
Then again, could be a tumor in my brain
Tricking me into thinking that we were meant to be
Either way, I’m about to shock my family
And my hometown again
‘Cause this time I’m leaving

~

But once I’m gone I cannot look back
I’ve got to trust this is right
Maybe I’m on my way to find you
Or maybe I’m gonna make the mistake of my life

~

Since we met, my life’s been so up in the air
Here today, but by next week I could be there
On the street, struggling to support my newest vice
With a sign that says ‘I will work for love advice.’
‘Cause I will mow your lawn
If you’ll tell me what I’m doing wrong

~

I’ll leave the car runnin’
And I’ll leave half the boxes packed
For the slim chance I’ll come right back

~

But once I’m gone I cannot look back
I’ve got to trust this is right
Maybe I’m on my way to find you
Or maybe I’m gonna make the mistake of my life

~~~~~

P.S. It wasn’t until posting these lyrics that I realized it says “I will work for love advice”, not “I will work for love and rice”! Either way, I’ll still mow your lawn (if you’ll pay me for it).

~~~~~

Along those lines, here are some of my favorite verses about God doing the unexpected:

“Think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. He chose the lowly things and the despised things and the things that are not, to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.” -1 Corinthians 1:26-29

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” -2 Corinthians 12:9-10

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven… If you love those who love you, what credit is there in that?” Matthew 5:43-46

And there are so many more! When the world valued men and firstborn sons and religiosity and status and wealth… God chose women and second-born sons and Samaritans and little children and the poor. Jesus came as a poor child of an unwed teenage mother, growing up to be a young, controversial teacher who defied conventions, spent his time with sinners, the sick, and the outcasts, preached love, turned little into much, and ushered in a Kingdom far different from the military glory most Jews were expecting from the Messiah. He was a servant-king who willingly died for his friends and for his enemies, defeated death, and continues to turn the world upside-down by looking not quite like what people expect. The truth is, if we can learn to see on that level and know him and his kingdom, it is far better than what we expect or imagine, and will one day be fully carried to completion. I’m looking forward to it. But for now, I delight in these little mysteries, for He has shown us the secrets of the kingdom.

~~~~~

 

One Response to ““Since we met, my life’s been so up in the air…””

  1. […] planning to provide a way to do it. And God tends to be like Ben in the last-minute department (see my blog post from when we were moving to Champaign), not for a lack of planning and foresight or lack of […]


Leave a Reply

